Legal Requirements for Automobile Insurance in Texas
In the United States, it is mandatory in most states to have automobile insurance first prior to driving or operating a car. The same is true in the state of Texas. There are corresponding punishments for not having automobile insurance or having those that lack the necessary coverage required by your state’s law. Read below how to find cheapest auto insurance in Texas. Although a liability coverage policy is enough for most states, some might require even more than that, such as:
An Overview on Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Texas
The Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage, also known as UM/UIM, is the type that provides coverage for a driver who gets into a car accident with someone who does not have any insurance, or probably has one that is insufficient in paying for any damage costs. This way, you won’t have to shoulder repairs on your car. In Texas, however, this type of coverage is not a requirement.
Facts About No Fault Auto Insurance and PIP in Texas
There are certain states that practice no-fault laws, wherein no one is blamed in case of a car crash. This means that no one will be held responsible for any damage caused to either parties. In this particular state, however, this type of law is non-existent, therefore, having the corresponding policy added to your vehicle insurance is not a requirement. Personal Injury Protection or PIP, on the other hand, is a policy often linked to no-fault coverage which would pay out for medical expenses or damages in case of a no-fault accident. Since this law is not practiced in Texas, PIP is not a mandatory addition to your automobile insurance.
Understanding the Hands-Free Laws in Texas
While mobile phones are technological innovations that have made people’s lives easier and more convenient, it is highly discouraged to use them while driving. Texting or calling could become a cause for car accidents as it requires the driver’s attention and forces them to drive with only one hand. This state, like most others, have implemented laws on preventing drivers from getting into accidents caused by such technology. The specific hands-free laws in Texas are:
|SPECIFIC RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE|
|Hand-held Ban||applied to drivers within or near school crossing zones|
|Young Drivers All Cellphone Ban||drivers below 18 years of age|
|Bus Drivers All Cellphone Ban||bus drivers whenever a passenger 17 years old and younger is present|
|Texting Ban||bus drivers whenever a passenger 17 years old and younger is present; drivers below 18 years of age; applied to drivers within or near school crossing zones|
It can be quite challenging having to look for Texas auto insurance quotes that would work with the requirements of the state where you live. You must also consider certain factors that would best suit you, such as the type of coverage it has and whether or not you would be able to afford it. Fortunately, there are cheapest car insurance in Texas – quotes available nowadays at Cheaptexasautoinsurance.net. All you have to do is enter your zip code to find rates that would satisfy your needs without hurting your finances.
With just a few clicks, start saving a lot of hard-earned money today!
To save even more money, look for these city-specific deals:Learn More About
Official Texas State Website