Texas Car Insurance — Teen Drivers, DUIs, and SR-22
The driving habits or situation of some drivers give them the label of “high-risk” motorists by insurance providers. These people face special difficulties in finding affordable insurance. Teenage drivers and motorists convicted of a DUI are most likely to be required to have an SR-22. Some drivers found to be driving without necessary insurance also file SR-22s. The need to file an SR-22 does not mean that you can’t find affordable car insurance in Texas. If you are classified as high-risk, keep reading the information below. Find Texas auto insurance quotes here.
Teenage Drivers and TX Car Insurance
There is a growing push to have all states adopt Graduated Driver Licensing Laws (GDL) dealing with teen drivers. The goal is to have teen drivers acquire driving experience and maturity before they drive full time and unsupervised. Texas’s GDL laws affecting teenagers are as follows:
GDL Law Requirements for the State of Texas
|Learner’s permit||16 Years|
|Full licensure||16 years and six month|
|Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold||6 months|
|Supervised Practice Driving||none|
|Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban||none|
|Cell Phone Use||Prohibited (with the exception of emergencies)|
Insurance for DUI in Texas
DUI offenses are taken seriously in Texas. Penalties include: from 72 hours up to a total of 180 total days in prison (the latter if minor under 15 is in vehicle); license suspension for 90 days up to one year; fines of up to $2,000 ($10,000 if minor under 15 is in vehicle); annual surcharge for DUI for three years or up to $2,000 when BAC is or exceeds 0.16)
SR-22 insurance in Texas
Of course, only drivers in high risk categories or convicted of specific driving violations are required to file an SR-22. When convicted of various driving offenses, such as DUI, causing an accident or driving without insurance, you will often have your license suspended. To have your license reinstated, it will normally be necessary to acquire an SR-22 and present it to the DMV. The state of Texas, does requires an SR-22 filing before a suspended license will be reissued to a driver convicted of these violations. Additionally, judges can require that drivers obtain an SR-22 at their discretion.
Since you have to have minimum levels of coverage in Texas, it is necessary to go through the process of finding a good insurance provider. Finding the cheapest auto insurance in Texas can be a hassle because of all the rules and options. This is especially the case if you are a high risk category motorist. To help you avoid the hassle, we have put all the important information together at Cheaptexasautoinsurance.net. You just come to the site and enter the information and all the quotes are there for you to compare. We save you time and money by asking for a few details in the quote widget below. Then you quickly get the very best quotes!
Just go to the quote widget below. After you enter just answer the few questions, you can start saving money today!
Also, be on the lookout for money-saving deals in the following Texas cities:Learn More About
Official Texas State Website